Grunge Forum

Come and join us because it's lonely underground.
It is currently Tue Sep 02, 2014 1:06 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours

Post subject: Grunge bass
PostPosted: Fri Apr 09, 2010 11:24 am 
Grunge fan

im new to bass guitar i play a four string B.C. Rich Warlock and a have a c80 orange amp im trying to start a grunge band any advice on starting a band writing grunge lyrics and any help with bass like songs i should know for shure and good distortion pedals ive never used a forum and this is my first post so im sorry if this doesnt make sense or if i posted it in the wrong section im just trying to do grunge right and not **** it up

:weird: :weird: :weird:

Post subject: Re: Grunge bass
PostPosted: Fri Apr 09, 2010 11:28 am 
Grunge God

I think you should probably practice and learn Bass, and then Grunge Bass before you make a band. I'm not a bassist, but I'm sure that Nirvana couldn't hurt to learn. Stone Temple Pilot's bassist is really good, so try that out too.

Also, writing lyrics isn't something you can teach or learn. It's just something you eventually figure out how to do on your own after a lot of thinking and self-reflection. Write about your own experiences, don't try to fit into the style just because of what some already-famous song's lyrics are like.

It'll take time, I advise not starting a band until you've got a good feel and you can play a good amount of music all the way through without messing up, at the right tempo. I know a lot of people who think that they get an instrument and have never played, but they can make a band and be successful - It's not like that. You gotta practice, and practice a lot.

PostPosted: Fri Apr 09, 2010 12:06 pm